

e-mail: robert@taxworkbook.com

Minutes of February 5-7, 2012 LGUTEF Board of Directors and Membership Meeting Crowne Plaza Hotel, Orlando Florida

L. Leon Geyer called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Attendance: Leon Geyer, Guido van der Hoeven, Claire Twardy, Bill Klump, J.C. Hobbs, Phil Harris, Warren Lee, George Patrick, Robert Achenbach

Guests: Mark Isaac, Rob Holcomb, Tom Muldoon, Hop Stockton, Linda Curry, Larry Borton, Kathy Roe, Nina Collum, Greg Bouchard, Virgina Uzendoski

Minutes: Hobbs moved and Klump seconded motion to approve minutes of December 2011 board meeting as amended. Motion approved.

Financial Report: Achenbach presented financial status of the foundation as of the end of 2011; status of 2011 audit; and the 2012 budget as approved in December 2012.

Committees

Contractual Services Committee – Patrick reported on committee's review of van der Hoven performance and contract and made recommendation annual compensation be increased three percent. Patrick reported on committee's review of Achenbach performance and contract and made recommendation annual compensation be increased three percent. Patrick reported on committee's review of Harris performance and contract and made recommendation annual compensation be increased three percent.

Committee also recommended that all three contracts be extended to three year contracts, staggered by one year.

Committee also recommended the hiring of an assistant editor who would work with Phil with the possible retention long-term as a potential replacement of Harris upon his retirement.

Motion by Klump, seconded by Lee, to accept report of Contractual Services committee. Motion approved.

Long-range Planning Committee – Hobbs reported on need to increase access to web site by use of meta tags and social networking. Some discussion of whether we need a new name but no consensus. Klump moved and Lee seconded motion to accept report of committee. Approved.

Audit Committee – Klump reported that an auditor has been hired and that the auditor will also construct the 2011 Form 990. Hobbs moved and Patrick seconded motion to accept report of committee. Approved.

Announcements

Deadlines for 2011 Book - Announce deadlines for 2012 Book - to printer on or before September 13, 2012. Davis Brothers requires six (6) weeks prior to first ship date. Harris indicated that additional efforts will be made to better meet the deadline in 2012.

Date for August Planning meeting on August 6-8, 2012, Omni Hotel in Indianapolis

Future meetings and future first workshop dates were discussed but not changed.

Conflict of interest statements – handed out for presentation at meeting on February 8.

Old Business

None

New Business

Twardy announced that Auburn will be expanding seminars into Nevada and Achenbach reported that Pennsylvania will be expanding its seminars into to Delaware and New Jersey. Because all these new states do not have current LGUTEF member status, the expansion did not need approval.

Associate membership application – Agricultural Law Press, Kelso, WA has requested associate membership in LGUTEF in order to present tax seminars with the LGUTEF book in Iowa. Hobbs moved and Klump seconded motion to accept the application of the Agricultural Law Press as an associate member in LGUTEF. Motion approved.

Actions on Contractual Services Committee recommendations:

Motion by Patrick, seconded by Hobbs to increase the compensation for van der Hoeven, Achenbach and Harris by three percent per year. Motion approved.

Motion by Klump, seconded by Hobbs to hire an assistant editor for Harris. If insufficient funds are available from 2012 revenues above the 2012 budgeted figures, funds for this compensation may be obtained from the reserve account.

Hobbs moved and Lee seconded motion to recess until 7:30am February 7, 2012.

Motion approved and board recessed at 5:51 p.m.

Minutes of LGUTEF Membership Meeting February 6, 2012 Crowne Plaza Hotel, Orlando, FL

Attendance: Leon Geyer, Guido van der Hoeven, Claire Twardy, Glenn Rogers, Bill Klump, Connie Smotek, J.C. Hobbs, Phil Harris, Robert Achenbach, Warren Lee, George Patrick, Tamara Cushing, Geoffrey Allen, Tom Muldoon, Larry Bird, Larry Bolton, Virginia Uzendoski, Mark Ribas, Edith Moates, Rob Holcomb, Clark Garland, Keith Kightlinger, Steve Isaacs, Wayne Hayenga, Greg Bouchard

Guido van der Hoeven called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. EST.

Financial Report: Achenbach presented the final 2011 financial report and 2012 budget.

Election of new directors.

Note: Ballots contain following language: "I ratify all actions of the Officers and Directors for 2011 as evidenced in the minutes of the meetings of the Board of Directors included in the February 2012 meeting handbook.

Date:_____ Signed:_____"

Ballots were distributed prior to meeting. No additional nominations were received. Van der Hoeven moved and Hobbs seconded, that the nominations were closed. Motion approved. Robert Achenbach, serving as Inspector of Elections, received and counted the ballots. Claire Twardy and J.C. Hobbs were unanimously elected as new board members for a three year term. Clark Garland was elected to fill the vacancy produced by the death of Joe Bennett in October 2011.

NEW BUSINESS

2012 book price. Achenbach reported that budget determined using same book price of \$20/book. Patrick moved and Hobbs seconded motion to retain \$20 book price for 2012. Motion approved.

Presentations on Registered Tax Return Preparer continuing education issues by Edgar Kidd, from the Orlando IRS office and Matt McBride of Fast Forward Academy. Members discussed and shared ideas for providing classes for RTRPs.

Geyer moved and Klump seconded motion to adjourn. Motion Approved. Adjourned at 5:31 PM.

February 7, 2012 Reconvened Board of Directors and Membership Meeting Crowne Plaza Hotel, Orlando Florida

Attendance: Leon Geyer, Guido van der Hoeven, Claire Twardy, Warren Lee, Bill Klump, J.C. Hobbs, Clark Garland, Phil Harris, George Patrick, Robert Achenbach

L. Leon Geyer reconvened board meeting at 7:30 am.

Election of Officers

Hobbs moved and Lee seconded motion to elect the following officers of the board: Chair – Leon Geyer Vice-president for Editorial Services – Phil Harris Vice-president for Administration – J.C. Hobbs Chief Administrative Officer – Robert Achenbach President and Assistant Treasurer – Guido van der Hoeven Secretary – William Klump Motion approved.

Conflict of interest updates. Board members submitted their conflict of interest statements to the chair for review. Geyer will review the statements and will raise any issues at future board meeting.

New Business Topics for future meetings. Webinars Sound systems for seminars Online evaluations of seminars Obtaining IRS continuing education accreditation

Agreed that van der Hoeven, Harris and Klump would form search committee for search for new assistant editor.

Klump moved and Hobbs seconded to adjourn. Adjourned at 7:50 am.

Written by Robert P. Achenbach, Jr, LGUTEF CAO